2017 WFTDA D1 Championships Central

2017 WFTDA D1 Championships Central Photo credit: Derby With Recess. facebook.com/DerbyWithRecess

Hosted by Philly Roller Derby, the 2017 WFTDA Division 1 Championships are upon us with 12 teams converging in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania to decide who is the best of the best. Gotham has had their legendary run with the Hydra, and now Rose City has kept it for two years in a row. Many think the trophy will end up down under while others hope to see it go a mile high. Ultimately, with the way the bracket fell into place this season, we will at least get a different matchup for the final game.

The annual November Championship tournament is only a Division 1 bracket this year since D2’s Playoffs and Champs were all in one weekend back in August in Pittsburgh, PA. Catch up on how each of the 12 D1 teams did this season, and how they are looking in their first-round matchups with Part 1 and Part 2 of our weekend preview.

You can watch this weekend’s games on WFTDA.tv, or check out WFTDA’s partnership with Twitch and their Roller Derby Watch Party. The Championship game on Sunday will air on ESPN3 live, with a re-air of the game on EPSN2 next week.

Below each team is listed with their Playoff finishing placement and seed for this weekend followed by their WFTDA rank as of September 30th. Don’t forget that Daylight Saving will occur between Saturday and Sunday and the schedule below reflects that.

FRIDAY
Game 1: 10 AM EDT/3 PM CET/1 AM (SAT) AEDT

#3 Montréal Roller Derby (#9) vs #4 Crime City Rollers (#12)
Halftime: CCR 66-64 MRD; Final: MRD 133-129 CCR
Recap | Video

Game 2: 12 PM/4 PM GMT/3 AM (SAT) AEDT
#2 Angel City Derby (#4) vs #4 Minnesota RollerGirls (#16)
Halftime: ACD 148-82 MNRG; Final: ACD 281-144 MNRG
Recap | Video

Game 3: 2 PM EDT/6 PM GMT/5 AM (SAT) AEDT
#3 London Rollergirls (#8) vs #3 Arch Rival Roller Derby (#7)
Halftime: ARCH 110-38 LRG; Final: ARCH 225-82 LRG
Recap | Video

Game 4: 4 PM EDT/8 PM GMT/7 AM (SAT) AEDT
#2 Texas Rollergirls (#6) vs #4 Rat City Rollergirls (#18)
Halftime: TXRG 110-75 RCRG; Final: TXRG 254-128 RCRG
Recap | Video

Game 5: 6 PM EDT/10 PM GMT/9 AM (SAT) AEDT
#1 Victorian Roller Derby League (#1) vs #3 Montréal Roller Derby (#9)
Halftime: VRDL 140-37 MRD; Final: VRDL 253-99 MRD
Recap | Video

Game 6: 8 PM EDT/12 AM (SAT) GMT/11 AM (SAT) AEDT
#2 Denver Roller Derby (#5) vs #2 Angel City Derby (#4)
Halftime: DRD 83-81 ACD; Final: DRD 196-165 ACD
Recap | Video

SATURDAY
Game 7: 10 AM EDT/2 PM GMT/1 AM (SUN) AEDT
#1 Gotham Girls Roller Derby (#3) vs #2 Texas Rollergirls (#6)
Halftime: GGRD 79-65 TXRG; Final: GGRD 148-145 TXRG
Recap | Video

Game 8: 12 PM EDT/4 PM GMT/3 AM (SUN) AEDT
#1 Rose City Rollers (#2) vs #3 Arch Rival Roller Derby (#7)
Halftime: RCR 143-31 ARCH; Final: RCR 237-109 ARCH
Recap | Video

Game 9: 2 PM EDT/6 PM GMT/5 AM (SUN) AEDT
#3 London Rollergirls (#8) vs #3 Montréal Roller Derby (#9)
Halftime: LRG 145-76 MRD; Final: LRG 231-152 MRD
Recap | Video

Game 10: 4 PM EDT/8 PM GMT/7 AM (SUN) AEDT
#4 Rat City Rollergirls (#18) vs #2 Angel City Derby (#4)
Halftime: ACD 103-53 RCRG; Final: ACD 219-94 RCRG
Recap | Video

Game 11: 6 PM EDT/10 PM GMT/9 AM (SUN) AEDT
#1 Victorian Roller Derby League (#1) vs #2 Denver Roller Derby (#5)
Halftime: VRDL 173-35 DRD; Final: VRDL 287-65 DRD
Recap | Video

Game 12: 8 PM EDT/12 AM (SUN) GMT/11 AM (SUN) AEDT
#1 Gotham Girls Roller Derby (#3) vs #1 Rose City Rollers (#2)
Halftime: RCR 76-57 GGRD; Final: RCR 159-113 GGRD
Recap | Video

SUNDAY
Game 13: 12 PM EST/5 PM GMT/4 AM (MON) AEDT
#4 Minnesota RollerGirls (#16) vs #2 Texas Rollergirls (#6)
Halftime: TXRG 145-71 MNRG; Final: TXRG 280-153 MNRG
Recap | Video

Game 14: 2 PM EST/7 PM CET/6 AM (MON) AEDT
#4 Crime City Rollers (#12) vs #3 Arch Rival Roller Derby (#7)
Halftime: ARCH 99-94 CRR; Final: ARCH 220-160 CCR
Recap | Video

Game 15: 4 PM EST/9 PM GMT/8 AM (MON) AEDT
3rd Place: #1 Gotham Girls Roller Derby (#3) vs #2 Denver Roller Derby (#5)
Halftime: DRD 90-66 GGRD; Final: GGRD 178-128 DRD
Recap | Video

Game 16: 6 PM EST/11 PM GMT/10 AM (MON) AEDT
1st Place: #1 Victorian Roller Derby League (#1) vs #1 Rose City Rollers (#2)
Halftime: VRDL 99-32 RCR; Final: VRDL 180-101 RCR

Tournament MVP: Lady Trample – Victorian Roller Derby League
Awards Ceremony

Be sure to follow us online all weekend long for scores and recaps. You can find us on FacebookTwitter, and Instagram.

Support roller derby coverage! Check out how you can buy a shirt or the other ways you can help out Derby Central.

derbycentral-2017

Written by